The Mint
Formerly the ‘Rum Hospital’ and the Sydney Royal Mint, this site is rich in history
10am–4pm
![[object Object]](https://images.mhnsw.au/fotoweb/embed/2024/09/eed411c58b7a4b5294ff5870a1d8332f.jpg)
About the building
The Mint is the oldest surviving public building in the Sydney CBD. Built in 1816, it was originally the southern wing of a general hospital for convict patients, and was known as the ‘Rum Hospital’, having been built for a cost of 60,000 gallons of rum.
The hospital closed in the 1840s. Following the discovery of gold in NSW in 1851, the British government established a Sydney branch of the Royal Mint in the southern wing. The building was converted into offices and a Bullion Office for receiving gold, and new buildings constructed to the rear contained the factory for processing the gold into coins.
Today, the site is home to Museums of History NSW’s head office, the Caroline Simpson Library, the Bullion Store cafe, the Bullion Bar and Dining restaurant, and various venue hire spaces.
Visitors can explore the rooms of the former hospital where colonial surgeons and apothecaries once lived and examine the archaeological remains of the Sydney Royal Mint in the courtyard and rear building.
Talks, tours and more
Built
1816
Architect
Original architect unknown
Adaptive reuse by fjcstudio (formerly FJMT)
Alterations
Captain Edward W Ward and Joseph Trickett, 1855; FJMT and Clive Lucas Stapleton & Partners, 2004
Awards
Royal Australian Institute of Architects NSW Awards – Sulman Medal for Public Architecture, 2005
Royal Australian Institute of Architects NSW Awards – Greenway Award for Conservation, 2005
Royal Australian Institute of Architects (NSW Awards) – Lachlan Macquarie Award for Heritage, 2005
Find out more about this building here






